Centrepiece of the Binnenhof complex is the Gothic Hall of Knights (Ridderzaal), which was built in 1280. The Dutch parliament is called de Staten-Generaal (the States-General). It consists of two chambers, the Senate and the House of Representatives, which sit in separate chambers. Joint sittings of both chambers are held on special occasions in the Hall of Knights. At the end of the 18th century, Stadholder Willem V had a palace built at the Binnenhof. In 1815 the House of Representatives gathered here for the first time. Since then, the complex of buildings has often been adapted to meet the needs of parliament. The House of Representatives is housed in five main buildings that were linked to each other in 1992 following major building work.

Air photo Binnenhof The Inner Court (Binnenhof) Chamber of the Senate Stadholder’s Room (Stadhouderskamer) The Old Chamber (Oude Zaal) Memorial to the Fallen of WW II (Monument voor de Gevallenen) The Coffee Room (Koffiekamer) The chamber of the House of Representatives (Plenaire Zaal) The Hall of Knights (Ridderzaal) The Central Passageway (Statenpassage) Old Library (Handelingenkamer) Standing Committees of the House of Representatives Governors’ Room (Regentenkamer)